Lesstep
Checked October 19, 2026

GitLab™ merge requests in IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm and other JetBrains IDEs

JetBrains IDEs have GitLab merge request support built in: IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, WebStorm, PhpStorm, GoLand, CLion and Rider have had it since 2023.2, and many readers need no plugin. JetBrains' issue tracker lists what is still open (merge requests across projects, a Request changes action, applying suggested changes, pipelines), and Marketplace has plugins that cover some of it. These are the general options for reviewing GitLab merge requests that we found.

Disclosure: Lesstep makes one of them (Merge Request Inbox for GitLab). The others are described from JetBrains' help and issue tracker and from their JetBrains Marketplace pages (descriptions, change notes, version lists and US prices) and, where linked, their own README. Where those do not say something, this page says "not stated in its description" instead of guessing. GITLAB is a trademark of GitLab Inc. in the United States and other countries and regions. Merge Request Inbox for GitLab is not affiliated, endorsed, sponsored, or approved with or by GitLab Inc. Corrections are welcome at support@lesstep.com. 日本語

Which one fits

The main options

Built into JetBrains IDEs (since 2023.2)

IDEs
IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, WebStorm, PhpStorm, GoLand, CLion and Rider since 2023.2, according to their What's New pages; the help of RubyMine, DataGrip, RustRover and DataSpell has the same pages (start version not stated). Bundled and enabled by default; the help marks no edition limit.
GitLab
GitLab Community Edition and Enterprise Edition 14.0 and later, according to the help, which does not use the names GitLab.com, Self-Managed or Dedicated. Sign-in in the help is a personal access token (scopes api and read_user); OAuth sign-in is in the 2026.3 early-access builds (IJPL-201684); for a server other than gitlab.com, JetBrains says there that an OAuth application has to be set up on that server. Multiline comments need IDE 2026.1 or later (IJPL-82603) and GitLab 18.6 or later; saving comments as drafts needs GitLab 16.3 or later (IJPL-148909).
Merge requests
A list with filters (state, author, assignee, reviewer, label), overview and timeline. Checking out the branch starts Review mode, with changes and comments in the diff and the editor. Comment, save as draft, reply, resolve, react, attach files; Approve or Submit a review, Revoke Approval, Request Review, Merge, Squash and Merge, Close; create merge requests. Files can be marked as viewed (kept in the IDE since 2024.1, IJPL-81408), and the details show one line for the jobs of the merge request's head pipeline, with a list that opens each job on GitLab (IJPL-84261, fixed in 2023.2.2; what it reads, in its source). Help: review, create and merge.
Also
Clone and share projects, GitLab snippets and CI/CD configuration file support, per the help.
Open requests
In JetBrains' issue tracker on October 19, 2026: merge requests across projects or a group (IJPL-82840, Open); a Request changes action (IJPL-160672, Open); applying suggested changes (IJPL-82601, In Design); a CI view listing a project's builds with their status, restart and cancel (IJPL-82612, Backlog); syncing viewed marks with GitLab (IJPL-162283, Shelved); a TLS client certificate for an account (IJPL-84200, Open).
Price
Part of the IDE; no separate price.

JetLab — Integration for GitLab

IDEs
IntelliJ IDEA and other JetBrains IDEs; its description names WebStorm, PyCharm, Rider, PhpStorm, Android Studio, GoLand, RubyMine, CLion, DataGrip, DataSpell and AppCode. Builds for 2025.3 and later (version 2026.3.4 on 2026.2, October 12, 2026); Marketplace offers no version for 2024.3, 2025.1 or 2025.2. Some features below differ by build.
GitLab
GitLab.com and GitLab Self-Managed 12.x or later, according to its description; Dedicated is not stated. Per its change notes, Request Changes needs GitLab 17.2 or later (Premium).
Merge requests
Review diffs with inline comments and discussions; iterative reviews (see what changed since your last review); create, approve, merge and close; check out the branch and browse comments in the editor. Its change notes add Request Changes, Re-request review, applying suggestions, resolving threads, draft comments and, in version 2026.3.4 (its 2026.2 build), an "Awaiting My Review" filter.
Also
GitLab issues, linked with merge requests. AI: an "AI Review" action (version 2026.3.3, September 2026; not on its 2025.3 build); a built-in MCP server for AI agents (in the change notes of its 2026.1 and 2026.2 builds, not its 2025.3 build); AI text improvement for comments and descriptions, which needs your own API key (all builds).
Price
Paid: $1.50 a month or $15 a year for individuals, $3 a month or $30 a year for organizations (its description does not say per user), 30-day trial.

MerryLab — Integration for GitLab

IDEs
IntelliJ IDEA, according to its description; other IDEs are not stated. Builds for 2024.1 and later: version 2026.07.21 on 2024.3 to 2025.3, version 2026.08.04 on 2026.1 and later.
GitLab
Editions and versions are not stated in its description.
Merge requests
Its description says it manages merge requests and CI/CD pipelines. Its change notes (in Chinese and English) list diffs with comments (add, reply, edit, delete), a code review mode, discussion resolution status, selecting commits, creating a merge request from the current branch and checking out its branch. Its description does not list approving or merging.
Also
Pipelines with filters and job logs. No AI features are listed in its description or change notes.
Price
Paid: $1 a month or $10 a year for individuals and for organizations, lower in later years, 30-day trial.

Cockpit for GitLab

IDEs
IntelliJ-based IDEs from 2025.2 on, according to its README (it names IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, WebStorm and GoLand). Marketplace offers nothing for 2024.3 or 2025.1. Its Marketplace versions start on July 15, 2026; the current one is 0.18.0 (July 30, 2026).
GitLab
gitlab.com and self-managed GitLab 17 or later, with a personal access token that has the api scope; Dedicated is not stated.
Merge requests
Browse and filter by role (author, reviewer, reviewer not yet approved) or user, across one project, every project of the instance, and multi-root repositories. Discussion threads with replies, draft reviews submitted in one go, inline comments, reviewed-files tracking, a changes-by-version selector, and a merge button with "merge when the pipeline succeeds". Per its README: approve and revoke, request changes, check out the source branch, close.
Also
Pipelines for each merge request (stages, jobs, retry, cancel, play, live logs) and notifications that work with the tool window closed. No AI features are listed in its description, README or change notes.
Price
Free; Marketplace and its README list the Apache 2.0 license.

Sciak Flow for Gitlab

IDEs
Not stated in its description. Marketplace offers a separate version line for each IDE version from 2025.1 on (18.2.0, October 18, 2026, on 2026.2; 15.0.x on 2025.1 and 2025.2) and nothing for 2024.3.
GitLab
Editions and versions are not stated in its description. It needs a personal access token with full API access.
Merge requests
Open merge requests and the files they change, diffs, comments on the merge request and on files, comments shown in the diff; create, update, approve, merge and close. Per its description it does not support projects with several repositories.
Also
Pipelines: list, jobs, job log, cancel and restart. Its change notes list MCP tools for AI agents from version 16.4.0 (its 2025.3 build and later): issues, creating merge requests, pipeline jobs and job logs, and from 17.0.0 commenting on merge requests. They also mention "ai" skills for code review and merge request descriptions, which are not described.
Price
Free; Marketplace lists the MIT license.

Merge Request Inbox for GitLab (Lesstep)

IDEs
2024.1 and later: IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, WebStorm, Rider and the other JetBrains IDEs with Git, and Android Studio Koala (2024.1.1) and later.
GitLab
GitLab.com and GitLab Self-Managed (Free tier and up). A minimum Self-Managed version and GitLab Dedicated are not stated on its page; its page says the paid actions were tested against GitLab CE 18.11 and 19.5.
Merge requests
An inbox of the merge requests waiting for your review, from the projects you have open, their group (subgroups included) or the whole instance, with what is new to you; every changed file in one diff window; viewed marks; discussion threads in the diff, with open ones at the top and resolved ones folded away; merge checks in plain words with the pipeline; check out the source branch, also from a fork.
Also
Focused on merge requests. No AI features and no telemetry; the token stays in the IDE's password safe.
Price
Reading is free. Approving, requesting changes, commenting, replying, resolving, merging, rebasing, marking as ready, closing and creating merge requests: $1.50 a month or $15 a year for individuals, $3 a month or $30 a year per user for organizations, 30-day trial.

Install it from JetBrains Marketplace

Smaller or narrower entries also exist. AOne GitLab Connect (free) is a beta (1.0.0-beta.1, July 25, 2026) for IDE 2026.2 and later; its description says GitLab 13.x to 19.x and lists merge request details and pipeline status. GitLab MR (free; not published by GitLab, Inc.) needs IDE 2024.2 or later; its description lists merge requests with filters, changed files in the IDE's diff viewer, and creating, merging and closing; comments are not stated. Git Desk (paid, $19 perpetual, 14-day trial; beta versions) covers GitHub and GitLab pull and merge requests, aggregated across the repositories you configure, with comments and reviews, next to merge sessions and worktrees. GitLab-Merge and GitLabPlus (free, short descriptions; not published by GitLab, Inc.) list creating and viewing merge requests. Merge Request Integration CE (last updated March 7, 2021) and GITMergeRequestToolBox (September 24, 2019) are not offered by Marketplace for 2024.3 to 2026.2. GitLab's own GitLab Duo (published by GitLab, Inc.) is an AI assistant for code suggestions, agents and chat; its description does not mention reviewing merge requests. Plugins built around AI code review, creating merge requests, pipelines or opening GitLab in the browser are left out; this page keeps to general tools for reviewing GitLab merge requests in the IDE.

Prices are the US year-one prices Marketplace listed on October 19, 2026 (ours on October 23, 2026); other countries and later years can differ. Dates are from the same pages (in UTC).

The built-in support's own lines, checked in its source

In its status lines and its failure messages, the built-in support shows lines of its own rather than GitLab's text. We read those lines in the source of IntelliJ IDEA's GitLab support (October 30, 2026) and put each with the page on what is behind it on the GitLab side:

Other comparisons

Sources