Lesstep
Checked October 19, 2026

GitLab™ pipelines, jobs and job logs in IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm and other JetBrains IDEs

JetBrains IDEs have GitLab support built in: IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, WebStorm, PhpStorm, GoLand, CLion and Rider have had it since 2023.2, and it already reaches CI/CD in two ways. Per JetBrains' issue tracker, the details of a merge request show its checks with links to the jobs on GitLab, and .gitlab-ci.yml has editing support. If status in the merge request is what you need, the built-in support may be enough, though manual jobs may still show as failed checks (IJPL-84153, open) and we did not try it in an installed IDE. What the tracker lists as open is a CI view in the IDE, a list of a project's builds with their status and restart and cancel (IJPL-82612, in the Backlog, filed in 2015), and Marketplace has plugins for that. These are the general options for seeing GitLab pipelines, jobs and job logs in the IDE that we found.

Disclosure: Lesstep makes one of them (Pipeline Inbox for GitLab CI). The others are described from JetBrains' help and issue tracker and from their JetBrains Marketplace pages (descriptions, change notes, version lists and US prices) and, where linked, their own README. Where those do not say something, this page says "not stated in its description" instead of guessing. GITLAB is a trademark of GitLab Inc. in the United States and other countries and regions. Pipeline Inbox for GitLab CI is not affiliated, endorsed, sponsored, or approved with or by GitLab Inc. Corrections are welcome at support@lesstep.com. 日本語

Which one fits

The main options

Built into JetBrains IDEs (since 2023.2)

IDEs
IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, WebStorm, PhpStorm, GoLand, CLion and Rider since 2023.2, according to their What's New pages; the help of RubyMine, DataGrip, RustRover and DataSpell has the same GitLab topics (start version not stated). Bundled and enabled by default; the help marks no edition limit.
GitLab
GitLab Community Edition and Enterprise Edition 14.0 and later, according to the help, which does not use the names GitLab.com, Self-Managed or Dedicated. Sign-in is a personal access token with the api and read_user scopes; OAuth sign-in is in the 2026.3 early-access builds, not yet a release (IJPL-201684). The .gitlab-ci.yml topic names no server version.
Pipelines
The help does not describe it, but JetBrains' issue tracker records that the details of a merge request show its checks, with links to the jobs on GitLab: the pipelines shown for a merge request (IJPL-84261) and the CI view showing manual jobs as failed (IJPL-84263) were fixed in 2023.2.2, and the links in the checks' details in 2024.1 (IJPL-81383, IJPL-77524); manual jobs still counting as failed checks is open (IJPL-84153). When IJPL-84154 was filed in 2023, the details pane showed the states success, failed and in progress.
Also
GitLab CI/CD configuration file support for .gitlab-ci.yml, per the help (page of April 22, 2026): syntax highlighting, inspections (duplicated jobs, undefined jobs and stages), completion, navigation, quick documentation, find usages, rename and Shell script injection. A reply on IJPL-173842 (Fixed) puts the stage and job code insight in 2025.1.
Open requests
In JetBrains' issue tracker on October 19, 2026: a CI view with a list of builds and their status, restart and cancel (IJPL-82612, Backlog, 85 votes); checks state in the merge request list (IJPL-82593, Open); CI status in the Git Log (IJPL-82621, Open; the 2024.1 What's New describes that column for GitHub commit checks); more check states, such as skipped jobs (IJPL-84154, To be discussed); manual jobs counted as failed checks (IJPL-84153, Open).
Price
Part of the IDE; no separate price.

GitLab CICD

IDEs
IntelliJ IDEA, CLion, PyCharm and other IntelliJ-based IDEs, according to its install notes. Marketplace offers a version for 2024.3 to 2026.2: 2025.3.0.243-252 for 2024.3, 2025.1 and 2025.2; 2026.1.0 for 2025.3; 2026.1.1 (July 20, 2026) for 2026.1 and 2026.2.
GitLab
Not published by GitLab, Inc. GitLab SaaS, and GitLab Self-Managed 15.x or later, according to its description; Dedicated is not stated.
Pipelines
Pipelines with their status, and the stages and jobs of each; run, cancel and retry a pipeline or a job (its change notes add triggering all manual jobs of a stage); the job log in real time; downloading job artifacts; notifications when pipelines start or finish; validation of .gitlab-ci.yml.
Also
Its description says the plugin is a direct client of GitLab that sends no data to any server other than GitLab, with tokens in the IDE's password storage. No AI features are listed in its description or change notes.
Price
Paid: $1.50 a month or $15 a year for individuals, $3 a month or $30 a year for organizations (its description does not say per user), 14-day trial.

GitLab Pipeline Monitor

IDEs
Which JetBrains IDEs is not stated in its description. Marketplace offers version 2026.3.3 (September 29, 2026) for 2024.3 to 2026.2.
GitLab
Not published by GitLab, Inc. GitLab.com or a self-hosted instance, with a token that has the api scope; versions and Dedicated are not stated. Reading the inputs of .gitlab-ci.yml when you create a pipeline is listed for GitLab 16.5 and later.
Pipelines
The pipelines of every GitLab project found in the workspace (as an option, of every open IDE window), with a dashboard tab (version 2026.3.0) showing the latest pipeline of each loaded project; live refresh; filters by branch, status or your own pipelines; stages and jobs; upstream and downstream pipelines; job logs streamed with colors; create, cancel, retry and play; notifications when a pipeline finishes.
Also
Deployments by environment with approvals, and pipeline schedules. No AI features are listed in its description or change notes.
Price
Freemium. Its change notes (June 2026) say viewing pipelines, jobs, logs and deployments stays free, and name creating, cancelling and retrying pipelines, schedules and deployment approvals as Premium (its own name for its paid tier, not GitLab Premium). $1 a month or $10 a year for individuals, $2 a month or $20 a year for organizations (its description does not say per user), 14-day trial.

Crocodile for GitLab

IDEs
JetBrains IDEs, according to its description. Marketplace offers version 2.10.0 (October 6, 2026) for 2024.3 to 2026.2.
GitLab
Not published by GitLab, Inc. GitLab.com, Self-Managed and GitLab Dedicated, according to its description; versions are not stated. Its install notes ask for a token with the api scope and the Maintainer role.
Pipelines
Pipelines arrived in version 2.0 (September 2025). Run, stop or retry jobs, start manual jobs and get a notification when they start and finish, stream live job logs (its change notes add a collapsible log pane), create a tag or branch from a pipeline, and write notes on a pipeline that project participants see in the plugin.
Also
CI/CD variables (create, edit, copy, migrate between projects, undo) and deployment environments. Its description says tokens and data are never transmitted to third parties and that it talks to your configured GitLab API; no AI features are listed in its description or change notes.
Price
Free (its description calls it 100% free).

Cockpit for GitLab

IDEs
IntelliJ-based IDEs from 2025.2 on, according to its README (it names IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, WebStorm and GoLand). Marketplace offers nothing for 2024.3 or 2025.1; the current version is 0.18.0 (July 30, 2026).
GitLab
Not published by GitLab, Inc. gitlab.com and self-managed GitLab 17 or later, with a token that has the api scope; Dedicated is not stated.
Pipelines
Built around merge requests: the pipelines of each merge request as stages and jobs (passed stages fold into one row), with retry, cancel and play, running a pipeline on a branch, live job logs with colors in editor tabs, downstream pipelines, the post-merge pipeline on the target branch, and notifications that keep working with the tool window closed. A list of a project's pipelines apart from merge requests is not stated in its description or README.
Also
Merge request review (browse, comment, approve, merge). No AI features are listed in its description, README or change notes.
Price
Free; Marketplace and its README list the Apache 2.0 license.

Sciak Flow for Gitlab

IDEs
Not stated in its description. Marketplace offers a separate version line for each IDE version from 2025.1 on (18.2.0, October 18, 2026, on 2026.2; 15.0.x on 2025.1 and 2025.2) and nothing for 2024.3.
GitLab
Not published by GitLab, Inc. (its description also says it is not affiliated with GitLab Inc.). Editions and versions are not stated; it needs a token with full API access. Per its description it does not support projects with several repositories.
Pipelines
Display pipelines, jobs and job logs; cancel and restart a job. Its change notes add a pipeline graph.
Also
Merge requests (create, update, approve, merge, close, comments in the diff). AI: its change notes list MCP tools for AI agents from version 16.4.0 (its 2025.3 build and later): getting an issue, creating issues and merge requests, a pipeline's jobs, the last pipeline, and a pipeline toolset with job log retrieval; from 17.0.0 (2026.1 and later) commenting on merge requests. They also mention "ai" skills for code review and merge request descriptions, which are not described. The notes of its 2025.1 and 2025.2 builds list no such tools.
Price
Free; Marketplace lists the MIT license.

MerryLab — Integration for GitLab

IDEs
IntelliJ IDEA, according to its description; other IDEs are not stated. Marketplace offers version 2026.07.21 for 2024.3 to 2025.3 and version 2026.08.04 for 2026.1 and later.
GitLab
Not published by GitLab, Inc. Editions and versions are not stated in its description.
Pipelines
Its description says it manages merge requests and CI/CD pipelines. Its change notes (in Chinese and English) list pipeline logs, pipeline filtering, a job list and Maven highlighting in logs.
Also
Merge request diffs with comments, a review mode and creating merge requests. No AI features are listed in its description or change notes.
Price
Paid: $1 a month or $10 a year for individuals and for organizations (its description does not say per user), 30-day trial.

Pipeline Inbox for GitLab CI (Lesstep)

IDEs
2024.1 and later: IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, WebStorm, Rider and the other JetBrains IDEs with Git, and Android Studio Koala (2024.1.1) and later.
GitLab
GitLab.com (HTTPS and SSH remotes) and GitLab Self-Managed (Free tier and up), any number of servers, each with its own token. A minimum Self-Managed version and GitLab Dedicated are not stated on its page; its page says the paid actions were tested against GitLab CE 18.11 and 19.5 with a runner. The settings link that opens the token form with name and scope filled in needs GitLab 16.7 or later; on an older GitLab you create the token in your profile settings.
Pipelines
The pipelines of every GitLab project open in the IDE together (multi-repository projects too), or of the 20 most recently active projects of each of their groups or of your memberships; filters for started by me, my current branch (with the pipelines of its open merge requests) and failed; a row per pipeline with status, commit title, branch or merge request, who started it and how long it took. Jobs by stage with downstream and child pipelines, and job logs in a console that follows a running job. A notification when a pipeline you started finishes (for projects cloned in the IDE) and the current branch's latest pipeline in the status bar.
Also
Public projects can be read without a token, unless a project shows its pipelines to members only; job logs need one. No AI features and no telemetry; its page says it talks to GitLab and nothing else, and the token stays in the IDE's password safe. English and Japanese.
Price
Reading is free: the pipeline list, jobs by stage, job logs, notifications and the status bar. Retrying, cancelling, running manual jobs and running new pipelines: $1.50 a month or $15 a year for individuals, $3 a month or $30 a year per user for organizations, 30-day trial.

Install it from JetBrains Marketplace

Smaller or narrower entries also exist. Pipeline Viewer (free; Marketplace lists the AGPL-3.0 license; offered for 2024.3 to 2026.2) has a one-sentence description about tracking GitLab pipelines, and its change notes list notifications, watched branches and tags; jobs and logs are not stated. GitLab Pipeline Viewer (free; not published by GitLab, Inc.; version 1.0.0, September 16, 2026) lists the pipelines of several projects, creates, cancels and retries pipelines and jobs, runs manual jobs and shows job logs with search; it names IntelliJ IDEA 2023.1 and later and a token with the api scope. GitPipeline (free) lists pipelines and job logs and names self-hosted GitLab 16.x as optional; its description names IDE 2026.1.x, up to 5 projects and 10 pipelines, and Marketplace offers nothing for 2026.2. GitLab Pipeline Watcher (free; not published by GitLab, Inc.; IDE 2025.2 and later) lists the recent pipelines of the current project, follows the pipeline of a pushed tag and reuses the sign-in of the JetBrains GitLab plugin; its change notes (in Spanish) add retrying a job and downloading job artifacts. Pipeline Notifier (free; IDE 2026.2 and later) alerts when a GitLab pipeline or a GitHub Actions run fails. GitLab CI Companion (free; not published by GitLab, Inc.) checks .gitlab-ci.yml offline; a live window of pipelines and jobs is opt-in with a token. AOne GitLab Connect (free; not published by GitLab, Inc.) is a beta (1.0.0-beta.1, July 25, 2026) for IDE 2026.2 and later; its description says GitLab 13.x to 19.x and lists pipeline status monitoring next to merge request details. JetLab (paid; published by Majera Software, not by GitLab, Inc.; builds for 2025.3 and later) is a merge request plugin whose change notes list pipeline statuses in the merge request list and support for external pipelines; a pipelines view with jobs and logs is not stated. Its change notes list AI features by build: an MCP server for AI agents (its 2026.1 and 2026.2 builds, not the 2025.3 build), an "AI Review" action for merge requests (version 2026.3.3, September 2026; not the 2025.3 build) and text improvement that needs your own API key (all builds). CIclone (paid, $40 a year for individuals, $80 for organizations, 30-day trial) notifies when a CI build finishes and jumps to failed tests; its opening sentence names GitLab CI/CD, but the list of supported CI services in its description does not, and its change notes mention a GitLab tool window in versions up to 2024.2. MCP Server AI Companion (free; IDE 2025.3 and later) is a general MCP server for AI agents; through the IDE's GitLab account its get_merge_request tool returns a merge request's pipeline, and it lists no tool for pipelines or job logs. Merge Request Integration CE (not published by GitLab, Inc.; last updated March 7, 2021) lists checking pipeline status and is not offered by Marketplace for 2024.3 to 2026.2. GitLab's own GitLab Duo (published by GitLab, Inc.) is an AI assistant for code suggestions, agents and chat; its description does not mention pipelines. Plugins for editing or checking .gitlab-ci.yml (CI Aid for GitLab, CI Lint for GitLab, CI Pipeline Lint, GitLab CI Break Lint), tools that generate CI files or trigger builds, and plugins where GitLab pipelines are one module of a toolbox are left out; this page keeps to general tools for seeing GitLab pipelines, jobs and job logs in the IDE.

Prices are the US year-one prices Marketplace listed on October 19, 2026 (ours on October 23, 2026); other countries and later years can differ. Dates are from the same pages (in UTC).

What the built-in support reads from a pipeline, in its source

The issue tracker entries in the card above describe the built-in support from the outside. In the source of IntelliJ IDEA's GitLab support (checked October 30, 2026), its CI is one line in the details of a merge request:

So the built-in support tells you whether the required jobs of a merge request passed, and sends you to GitLab for the rest: the log of a failed job, a retry, a manual job to run, or the pipelines of a branch without a merge request. The plugins in the cards above bring some or all of that into the IDE; each card says which.

Other comparisons

Sources