Forgejo and Gitea pull requests in IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm and other JetBrains IDEs
JetBrains IDEs have no built-in support for Forgejo, Gitea or Codeberg pull requests that we could find. The 2026.2 help for IntelliJ IDEA has topics for GitHub pull requests and GitLab merge requests, and its topic list does not name Forgejo, Gitea or Codeberg. The request for Forgejo pull requests and code reviews, IJPL-197184, is open, and we did not find a separate request for Gitea. Git itself does not need an integration (the help's Clone dialog takes the URL of a remote repository); pull requests do. The 2026.2 release notes also list tasks from Forgejo servers (IJPL-236567 (linked as a subtask of IJPL-197184, which stays open), a Forgejo server in Tools | Tasks | Servers), which is not about pull requests. If you use IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, WebStorm, Rider or another JetBrains IDE, these are the general plugins for reviewing Forgejo, Gitea or Codeberg pull requests that we found on the Marketplace.
Disclosure: Lesstep makes one of them (Pull Request Inbox for Forgejo and Gitea). The others are described from their JetBrains Marketplace pages (descriptions, change notes, version lists and US prices) and, where linked, the vendor's own page or README. Where those do not say something, this page says "not stated in its description" instead of guessing. Pull Request Inbox for Forgejo and Gitea is not affiliated with, endorsed, sponsored, or approved by the Forgejo project, Codeberg e.V., or the Gitea project and its owners. Forgejo, Gitea and Codeberg are names of their respective owners. Corrections are welcome at support@lesstep.com. 日本語
Which one fits
- You use Codeberg: Codeberg runs Forgejo, according to Codeberg's FAQ. Codeberg runs Forgejo, so plugins for Forgejo servers may work there too; Pull Request Inbox (ours) names Codeberg in its description, and on Codeberg we tried ours for reading public repositories. The descriptions of Gitea & Forgejo Pull Requests and of the plugin named Forgejo name Forgejo servers and do not name Codeberg (Gitea & Forgejo Pull Requests says "self-hosted"), and Gitea PR & Code Review says Forgejo is not supported.
- Your server is Gitea older than 1.27: Gitea PR & Code Review needs Gitea 1.27 or later (1.27.0 came out on July 13, 2026). Gitea & Forgejo Pull Requests says it was tested with Gitea 1.24 and states no minimum. The plugin named Forgejo states no server versions. Pull Request Inbox (ours) states no minimum for the plugin; we tested ours against Gitea 1.25, 1.26 and 28.2 and Forgejo 11, 15 and 17 (October 22, 2026), and its description names Gitea 1.26 or later for resolving and reopening conversations, and says Forgejo has no API for that yet.
- You use both Forgejo and Gitea servers: Forgejo became a hard fork of Gitea in early 2024, according to forgejo.org, and the plugins differ in what they say about it. Gitea & Forgejo Pull Requests says Forgejo uses the same API; the plugin named Forgejo added Gitea support in version 1.0.20 (June 2026); Gitea PR & Code Review says Forgejo is not supported; Pull Request Inbox (ours) names both.
- You are on IDE 2024.3 to 2025.2: Marketplace offers no version of Gitea & Forgejo Pull Requests, Gitea PR & Code Review or the plugin named Forgejo for 2024.3 or 2025.1; Pull Request Inbox (ours) starts at 2024.1. On 2025.2 it also offers Gitea & Forgejo Pull Requests. The plugin named Forgejo starts at 2025.3, and Gitea PR & Code Review is offered for 2026.2.
- You want a free plugin: Gitea PR & Code Review is free (Marketplace lists the MIT license), for Gitea 1.27 or later on IDE 2026.2. Pull Request Inbox (ours) is free for reading. Gitea & Forgejo Pull Requests and the plugin named Forgejo are paid, with a 7-day and a 30-day trial.
- You want to look at a public repository's pull requests before creating a token: Gitea PR & Code Review (read-only, without an account) and Pull Request Inbox (ours; pull requests, conversations, checks and diffs of public repositories) say so. Gitea & Forgejo Pull Requests lists creating an access token as a setup step, and the plugin named Forgejo does not say.
- You also want tasks, time tracking or Actions: the 2026.2 release notes list tasks from Forgejo servers. Gitea (free, see the note) lists task management and time tracking for Gitea, and Gitea issues (free) is an issue-tracker integration last updated in 2020. Pull Request Inbox (ours) covers pull requests and not issues. For Forgejo or Gitea Actions runs, see Forgejo Actions and Gitea Actions in JetBrains IDEs: on October 28, 2026 we found one plugin for them, Pipeline Inbox for Forgejo and Gitea (ours).
- You want AI agent hooks: Gitea & Forgejo Pull Requests adds three read-only MCP tools to the IDE's built-in MCP server (unresolved review comments, the pull request list, a pull request's diff). The Gitea project also publishes its own MCP server (gitea-mcp) that AI agents can use for pull requests without an IDE plugin. Marketplace offers one version, 2026.1.2, for 2025.2 through 2026.2. The other cards list no AI features in their descriptions or change notes.
- You mainly review pull requests, want reading to stay free, and want a description that states no AI and no telemetry, on Codeberg, Forgejo or Gitea: Pull Request Inbox for Forgejo and Gitea (Lesstep's). Having no AI features does not set it apart: the descriptions of Gitea PR & Code Review and of the plugin named Forgejo list no AI features either. What does is that its own description says it has no AI and no telemetry, and that one plugin covers Codeberg, Forgejo and Gitea with free reading from IDE 2024.1. Gitea PR & Code Review is a free alternative that also approves and merges (Gitea 1.27 or later, IDE 2026.2, no Forgejo or Codeberg) and states nothing about telemetry; in ours, approving, commenting and merging are Pro after a 30-day trial.
The main options
Gitea & Forgejo Pull Requests
- IDEs
- IntelliJ-based IDEs on build 252 (2025.2) or later, according to its description; the vendor's page names IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, WebStorm, GoLand, PhpStorm and Rider. Marketplace offers version 2026.1.2 (October 2026) for 2025.2 through 2026.2, and no version for 2024.3 or 2025.1.
- Server
- Self-hosted Gitea (API v1; its description says it was tested with Gitea 1.24) and Forgejo, which it says use the same API. Codeberg and gitea.com are not named, and no minimum version is stated.
- Pull requests
- The pull requests of the repository behind the project's Git remote (open, closed or all), with their unresolved review comments; every changed file in the IDE's diff viewer; line comments; a review as comment, approval or change request; merge with a merge commit, rebase or squash, with the permissions of your token.
- Also
- Three read-only tools for AI agents through the IDE's built-in MCP server (unresolved review comments, pull request list, pull request diff); Marketplace tags the plugin AI. Published by GRAMSHIFT, which says it is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Gitea or Forgejo projects.
- Price
- Paid: $1.50 a month or $15 a year for individuals, $3 a month or $30 a year for organizations; 7-day trial with every feature. Its description does not say per user.
Gitea PR & Code Review
- IDEs
- Builds for 2026.2 (version 1.1.1, October 13, 2026, since 262.0 until 262.*); Marketplace offers no version for 2024.3 through 2026.1. Its description names the bundled Git plugin and no IDE; its README says it targets IntelliJ IDEA 2026.2.
- Server
- Gitea 1.27 or later (self-hosted, on a sub-path, HTTP or HTTPS). Its description says Forgejo, Gogs and other compatible services are not supported; Codeberg runs Forgejo (see above), and gitea.com is not named.
- Pull requests
- A tool window for the project's Gitea remote, filtered by state, author and label; details, commits, status checks and changed files; a conversation timeline with reply, edit, resolve and delete; review in the diff viewer or the editor with draft comments, suggested changes applied in one click, and approve, request changes or comment; merge, close, reopen, check out the branch, request reviewers. Pull requests of public repositories can be read without an account.
- Also
- Sign-in with a token (several accounts and servers); a Gitea tab in Get from Version Control for cloning. No AI features are listed in its description or change notes. Not published by the Gitea project.
- Price
- Free; Marketplace lists the MIT license.
Forgejo
- IDEs
- Its description names Android Studio, CLion, DataSpell, DataGrip, GoLand, IntelliJ IDEA, MPS, PhpStorm, PyCharm, Rider, RubyMine, RustRover and WebStorm. Builds for 2025.3 and later (version 1.0.24, July 17, 2026); Marketplace offers no version for 2024.3, 2025.1 or 2025.2.
- Server
- Forgejo. Its change notes for version 1.0.20 (June 2026) add Gitea support; its description does not name Gitea, Codeberg or gitea.com and states no server versions.
- Pull requests
- Pull request listing, review comments, review submission, clone support and token-based Git authentication, according to its two-line description. Which review actions it has, merging included, is not stated in its description.
- Also
- No AI features are listed in its description or change notes. Not published by the Forgejo project.
- Price
- Paid: $10 a year for individuals and for organizations (Marketplace lists no monthly price); 30-day trial. Its description does not say per user.
Pull Request Inbox for Forgejo and Gitea (Lesstep)
- IDEs
- 2024.1 and later: IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, WebStorm, Rider and the other JetBrains IDEs with Git, and Android Studio Koala (2024.1.1) and later.
- Server
- Codeberg (HTTPS and SSH remotes) and your own Forgejo or Gitea server; gitea.com and code.forgejo.org are recognised from the remote and read without a token. Public repositories can be read without a token; private repositories and your review inbox need an access token. No minimum server version is stated; its page says the paid actions were tested against Forgejo 11, 15 and 17 and Gitea 1.25, 1.26 and 28.2, and that a comment on several lines keeps its range on Forgejo 16 and later only. Resolving and reopening conversations needs Gitea 1.26 or later, and its description says Forgejo has no API for that yet.
- Pull requests
- An inbox of the pull requests waiting for your review, from the repositories you have open, from their owner or from the whole server, with what is new since you last looked; every changed file in one diff window, fetched from the server; viewed marks; line conversations in the diff, open ones at the top and resolved ones folded away; merge checks in plain words; commit statuses; checking out the branch, also from a fork.
- Also
- Pull requests and not issues or time tracking. No AI features, no telemetry; one token for Codeberg and one for your own server, each kept in the IDE's password safe and sent to its own server and nowhere else.
- Price
- Reading is free. Approving, requesting changes, commenting, replying, resolving, merging, updating the branch, marking as ready, closing and creating pull requests: $1.50 a month or $15 a year for individuals, $3 a month or $30 a year per user for organizations, 30-day trial.
Smaller or narrower entries also exist. Bulk Merge Requests (free, published by Brielmayer Consulting GmbH, IDE 2025.3 and later) creates pull or merge requests for all open projects in one dialog on GitLab, GitHub, Gitea and Forgejo, on hosted services and on your own server; its description lists no review. Gitea (free, not published by the Gitea project, offered for IDE 2024.3 to 2026.2, last updated August 2, 2026) lists cloning repositories, task management, time tracking and updating a task's state, and lists issue management and "PR Management & Review" under "New Feature Coming Soon". Gitea issues (free, not published by the Gitea project) is an issue-tracker integration last updated on February 27, 2020. Plugins that open the host in the browser (GitLink lists Codeberg, Forgejo and Gitea among its hosts), repository launchers, changelog tools, and plugins that mention Codeberg or Gitea in passing are left out; this page keeps to general tools for reviewing Forgejo, Gitea and Codeberg pull requests in the IDE.
Prices are the US year-one prices Marketplace listed on October 19, 2026 (ours on October 23, 2026); other countries and later years can differ. Dates are from the same pages (in UTC).
Other comparisons
- Azure DevOps pull requests in JetBrains IDEs
- Bitbucket pull requests in JetBrains IDEs
- GitLab merge requests in JetBrains IDEs
- GitLab pipelines in JetBrains IDEs
- Jenkins builds in JetBrains IDEs
- GitHub Actions runs in JetBrains IDEs
- Bitbucket Pipelines in JetBrains IDEs
- Forgejo Actions and Gitea Actions in JetBrains IDEs
Sources
- JetBrains: the IntelliJ IDEA 2026.2 help index (GitHub and GitLab topics; no topic for Forgejo, Gitea or Codeberg), the requests IJPL-197184 (state Open on October 19, 2026) and IJPL-236567 (Fixed, available in 2026.2) with the 2026.2 release notes of IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, WebStorm, PhpStorm, GoLand, RubyMine, CLion and Rider, the help topic MCP Server, and the build number ranges used to read each plugin's "since" and "until" builds as IDE versions
- Plugins: their JetBrains Marketplace pages, linked above (descriptions, change notes, version and compatibility lists, prices and trial lengths as of October 19, 2026); for Gitea & Forgejo Pull Requests also the vendor's page; the README of Gitea PR & Code Review is linked from its Marketplace page
- Forgejo, Gitea and Codeberg: Codeberg's FAQ, Forgejo's comparison with Gitea, and the release notes of the Gitea project (1.26.0 added the resolve and unresolve API for review comments; 1.27.0 is dated July 13, 2026)
- How the list was made: Marketplace searches on October 19, 2026 for "gitea", "forgejo", "codeberg", "gitea pull request", "forgejo pull request", "gitea review", "forgejo code review", "self-hosted git", "git hosting", "pull request", "pull requests", "code review", "review requests", "pr review" and others, then every result's description was read for Gitea, Forgejo and Codeberg. Other plugins may exist that these searches do not return.