Lesstep
Checked October 22, 2026

GitHub Actions workflow runs, jobs and logs in IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm and other JetBrains IDEs

JetBrains IDEs bundle a GitHub plugin. For GitHub Actions it helps you write workflow files and shows whether the checks of a pull request or a commit passed, but it has no list of workflow runs with their jobs and logs: the request to read run logs in the IDE (IJPL-74267) has been Submitted since January 2022. The IntelliJ IDEA 2026.3 early-access build adds an option, off by default, to be notified when a workflow run fails for a commit you pushed. Following runs, reading their logs and acting on them is left to plugins on JetBrains Marketplace. These are the general options for that we found.

Disclosure: Lesstep makes one of them (Pipeline Inbox for GitHub Actions Workflows). The others are described from their JetBrains Marketplace pages (descriptions, change notes, version lists and US prices). Where those do not say something, this page says "not stated in its description" instead of guessing. GitHub and GitHub Actions are trademarks of GitHub, Inc. Pipeline Inbox for GitHub Actions Workflows is not affiliated with, sponsored or endorsed by GitHub, Inc. Corrections are welcome at support@lesstep.com. 日本語

Which one fits

The main options

Built into JetBrains IDEs

IDEs
The GitHub plugin bundled with IntelliJ IDEA 2024.1 and 2025.3, the 2026.3 early-access build and Rider 2026.2 was checked.
GitHub
GitHub and GitHub Enterprise accounts, logged in through the IDE.
Runs
No list of workflow runs, jobs or logs. A pull request's details say whether its checks passed, failed or are still running, with a link to them in the browser, and the Git log has a "GitHub Commit Checks" column. The 2026.3 early-access build adds an advanced setting, off by default, "Notify about a failed GitHub Actions workflow run for your push": it looks for the runs of a commit you pushed from this working copy once a minute (30 times by default), and its notification offers Open on GitHub and Download logs.
Workflow files
In 2025.3, the 2026.3 early-access build and Rider 2026.2: completion, inspections (undefined actions, missing or undefined inputs, undefined or cyclic job dependencies) and templates for new workflow and action files.
Open requests
In JetBrains' issue tracker on October 22, 2026: "GitHub Actions: Support viewing logs in IDE" (IJPL-74267, Submitted, 5 votes, filed January 17, 2022). The meta issue for workflow-file support (IJPL-72839) was closed as Fixed in November 2024.
Price
Included with the IDE.

GitHub Actions Manager

IDEs
"JetBrains IDEs", according to its description. Version 2026.1.18 (October 14, 2026) is for 2026.2 and later; Marketplace offers older versions for 2024.1 (2024.2.6, July 19, 2024), 2024.3 (2025.1.2, May 10, 2025) and 2025.2 (2025.2.13, March 21, 2026).
GitHub
github.com and GitHub Enterprise Server; the IDE's GitHub accounts or a token of your own, with an account per repository.
Runs
Free: current and past runs with tooltips (what started them, attempt, duration), jobs as a tree with matrix and reusable-workflow jobs grouped, logs split by step and searchable, filters by branch, actor, event and status with a current-branch filter, refreshed every 30 seconds by default, and a choice of which repositories to show or hide. Paid: artifacts, the pull request that triggered a run, deployment approval, dispatchable workflows with every input type, re-running or cancelling a run or a single job, annotations that jump to the file and line, and a repository settings dialog for variables and secrets, collaborators, Actions caches and environments. A notification when a run finishes is not stated in its description.
Also
Workflow-file help: outdated actions with a quick fix, unknown actions, navigation to actions. No AI features are listed in its description or change notes.
Price
Free for viewing runs, jobs and logs. Paid features: $3 a month or $30 a year for individuals, $8 a month or $80 a year for organizations, 30-day trial.

Actionate

IDEs
Version 2025.1.13 (September 19, 2026) for 2026.2 and the 2026.3 early-access build; Marketplace offers 2025.1.10 (January 3, 2026) for 2025.2 and 2025.3, and 2025.1.7 (May 9, 2025) for 2024.1 to 2025.1. Its change notes say it is tested on nine JetBrains IDE products.
GitHub
Accounts from the IDE's bundled GitHub plugin, a default one or one per project. GitHub Enterprise Server is not stated in its description.
Runs
Current and past runs with filters by branch, actor, event and status; a run's details (event, actor, duration, pull request, commit, branch, workflow file), annotations, artifacts to download, jobs, steps, all attempts, and logs of any size with collapsible groups and links. Notifications when a run you subscribed to finishes, or every run you trigger on your current branch of a workflow you subscribed to. Re-run all or failed jobs, with debug logging if you like; run dispatchable workflows with every input type, a ref picker and required inputs checked. Cancelling and deployment reviews are not stated in its description.
Also
Completion of environments, variables and secrets in workflow files. No AI features are listed in its description or change notes.
Price
Paid: $1 a month or $10 a year for individuals, $2 a month or $20 a year for organizations, 30-day trial.

Visual GitHub Actions

IDEs
2025.2 and later; version 5.0.0 of September 27, 2026.
GitHub
Sign-in for github.com and GitHub Enterprise in its settings.
Runs
A Runs tool window with the workflows and recent runs of the repository from the project's origin remote, filtered by workflow and branch and refreshed automatically; re-run and cancel. Picking a run shows its job and step status on the workflow graph, with links to a failed job on GitHub. Logs are not stated in its description.
Also
Mainly a visual workflow editor: jobs as cards with their dependencies, next to the YAML and kept in sync.
Price
Paid: $2 a month or $20 a year for individuals, $5 a month or $50 a year for organizations, 14-day trial.

Pipeline Inbox for GitHub Actions Workflows (Lesstep)

IDEs
2024.1 and later: IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm, WebStorm, Rider, GoLand, PhpStorm, CLion, RubyMine and the other JetBrains IDEs with Git. It does not depend on the bundled GitHub plugin.
GitHub
github.com, GitHub Enterprise Server and GHE.com, any number of hosts, each with its own personal access token in the IDE's password safe; public repositories on github.com without a token. The IDE's proxy settings and trusted certificates are used.
Runs
One list across this project's repositories (from its Git remotes, forks included) and the ones you add: by owner/repository or address, every repository of an organization, or with a token the ones you were active in lately. Filters for runs pushed or started by you or of your commits, your current branch, failed, and waiting for your review. Per run: the commit, the pull request, who started it and the workflow file; jobs with their steps; job logs with colours, groups and error lines, searchable, opened at a step by double-clicking it. A notification when a run of yours or of your current branch finishes, and your current branch's runs in the status bar.
Also
No AI features and no telemetry; its page says it talks only to the GitHub hosts you set up and to GitHub's log storage for a job's log, which is read without the token. English and Japanese.
Price
Reading is free: the run list, jobs and steps, logs, notifications and the status bar. Re-running jobs (failed, all or one, with debug logging if you like), cancelling runs, running workflows with their inputs and reviewing deployments: $1.50 a month or $15 a year for individuals, $3 a month or $30 a year for organizations, 30-day trial.

Install it from JetBrains Marketplace

Smaller or narrower entries also exist. GitHub Workflow (free; version 2026.6.26, June 26, 2026, for IDE 2024.2 and later) is mainly a workflow-file plugin; its May 2026 change notes add run configurations that start a dispatchable workflow with its inputs, show the run's status and logs in the Run tool window and cancel it. GitHub Actions Viewer (free; IDE 2026.2) shows the runs of every repository in the current workspace as a tree from repository down to step, with a current-branch filter; it signs in through the GitHub CLI, and logs are not stated in its description. Gh-Workflows (free; IDE 2025.2 and later) lists workflows and recent runs, starts dispatchable workflows with their inputs, and re-runs, cancels or deletes runs; a job opens on GitHub. ActionLens (free; IDE 2024.1 to 2026.2) shows runs, jobs, steps and full job logs with error lines highlighted. GitHub Actions Controller (free; IDE 2026.1 and later) shows workflows, recent runs, job details and logs in the Git tool window and starts dispatchable workflows. GitHub Actions Monitor (free; IDE 2024.3 and later) says it monitors and acts on GitHub Actions for your project's repository, on github.com and GitHub Enterprise Server; its description says nothing more. Pipeline Notifier (free; IDE 2026.2 and later) alerts on failed GitHub Actions runs and GitLab pipelines, with extra repositories and rules for other people's failures. Build Monitor (free for one account and two profiles, paid beyond; last updated December 2023) monitors GitHub workflows and Buildkite builds with notifications and automatic retries. CIclone (paid) notifies when a build on one of several CI services finishes, GitHub Actions among them, and jumps to the failed tests. Pull Request Viewer for Bitbucket, GitHub & Azure DevOps (paid) includes the GitHub Actions runs of pull requests, with jobs, logs, re-run and cancel, in its pull request review. Plugins for writing or checking workflow files (GitHub Actions Helper, GitHub Actions Run Highlighter, Action Runtime Sunset Lint and others), for running a job on your own machine (Runcradle, paid), for the security of workflows (GitHub Actions Supply Chain Guard, GitHub Actions Pwn-Request Companion), and plugins that name GitHub Actions only as a CI their own tool can run in, are left out; this page keeps to general tools for following workflow runs in the IDE.

Prices are the US year-one prices Marketplace listed on October 22, 2026; other countries and later years can differ. Dates are from the same pages (in UTC).

Sources

Other comparisons